For happy drives

While some people may think that driving isn’t necessarily a mood, I challenge you to look at it in a different light. There have been many times when I’ve had a long day, good or bad, and I have this sense of desire to get in my car and drive for a while. Most times it’s to clear my head after a particularly hard day, but other times it’s to go see a friend or treat myself to some ice cream. This, ladies and gentlemen, is why I’m classifying ‘drives’ as a mood. For the purpose of this blog, I’ll also be splitting up songs between sad, contemplative, and happy/road trip drives.

To start this category off, I figured a happier suggestion would be smart (mostly to balance out the last post and partially because I love this song). For me, a good happy drive song is light and bouncy, with catchy and simple lyrics that you can sing or, at least, hum along to.

Enter Anderson .Paak’s collaboration with Mac Miller on “Dang!”.

This is a fun and groovy song that makes you want to shimmy your shoulders and move your body to the beat. It’s perfect for the car because all of the elements of the track are those that just sound good in a car. The groove combined with .Paak’s voice brings a smile to your face and lets your mind wander to happy memories, or to focus on the positive memories of the day. “Dang!” is one of those songs that you can’t listen to angrily, it demands that you take a moment to enjoy the simple things.

Another reason why this song works for drives is the melody. It’s that kind of melody that makes the sun shine brighter, or the overcast skies to seem a little less gloomy and grey. Mac’s verses are more playful and sensitive than some of his other songs, which just adds to the overall vibe of the song.

Next time you’re on your way to treat yourself or meet up with friends, toss this on in the car and see if you can resist that bounce your body wants to do so badly!

I’d love to hear some of your favourite car jams. Leave them below and I’ll be sure to try some of them out!

Leave a Reply

